I don’t really have all that much to say about this film to be honest, although I’m not sure it’s a film that warrants all that much commentary.

I’d been wanting to see this film for a long time last year due to it being lauded as one of the best films of 2016 (particularly on Reddit) and I finally got the opportunity the other night thanks to Netflix (all praise). It’s an odd film really in a lot of ways, there certainly is a humour to it, that’s undeniable but I found the humour quite lacking, there were moments, particularly at the beginning that really got laughs from me and my mum but these moments were sparse and the middle section seemed to lack them completely. Despite not being as funny as expected, it was an undeniably sweet and heartwarming film (shout out to Bella, the best foster mother in film) but in an entirely predictable way, it bordered on becoming too syrupy towards the end but just managed to avoid it.

I appreciated that the film addressed, if only briefly the huge shortcomings of the foster care system, any more reference to this would have been too much. I also liked that it allowed a character and a dog to die and without giving it too much ceremony but just presenting the fact.

Taika Waititi’s direction and script have a fun and energetic tone but somehow the film, despite clocking in at just over an hour and a half, felt far longer than it was. I’m not sure I’d recommend this film to anyone to be honest, but I definitely don’t regret watching it, I suppose this is another victim of overhyping. Acting was strong throughout barring one notable exception, I particularly enjoyed Bella, Psycho Sam and the dogs.

Leave a Reply

